Weight: 1
Weblinx1: 2015
Weblinx2: 236p
Weblinx3: 0
Weblinx4:
Weblinx5:
Brand: Ruth Goodman et al

How To Be A Tudor

by Ruth Goodman et al

Regular Price: £20.00
Your Price: £8.99
You Save: £11.01 (55%)

Qty:

In Stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist

How To Be A Tudor : A Dawn-to-Dusk Guide to Everyday Life

How To be a Tudor by Ruth Goodman - a time traveller's guide to Tudor England full of fascinating down-to-earth detail. Enter the real Wolf Hall...We know about the big picture - the court of Henry VIII; the break from Rome, Elizabeth I and the Spanish Armada. But what was life really like for a common or like you or me? Ruth Goodman has lived like a Tudor so you don't have to.

Learn how to eat, sleep, wash, say your prayers, plough fields and write letters like a Tudor. Without banks, discover that credit is dependent on your appearance and fashion is the realm of men. Because sheep are miniature and prices are high, learn to mend your clothes yourself, your most prized possessions.

This book will be enjoyed by anyone interested in Hilary Mantel's novels and the Tudor period. It will also appeal to readers of Lucy Worsley, Judith Flanders, Stephen Clarke and Dr Ian Mortimer. "Wonderful, informative, startling...Good man's unique selling proposition as a historian is that she walks the walk of her time period, even when that walk involves hard labor in a corset and a hoop skirt." (The New York Times on How to be a Victorian).

"Written with such passion...will fascinate and inform anyone who is interested in Victorian ways of life. " (Dr Ian Mortimer, The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England). Ruth Goodman is a historian who specializes in the everyday life of the past.

She has written and presented numerous acclaimed BBC television series and is a regular presenter on the One Show. She is the author of How to be a Victorian, and has co-authored three other books, including the Number One Bestseller Victorian Farm.

Staff Reviews

No staff reviews are available for this item.