Weight: 1.00
Weblinx1: 2017
Weblinx2: 220p
Weblinx3: 0
Brand: Andrew Rawson

Treachery And Retribution

by Andrew Rawson

Regular Price: £12.99
Your Price: £11.99
You Save: £1.00 (8%)


In Stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist

Treachery & Retribution : England's Dukes, Marquesses & Earls: 1066 - 1707

This is the history of England's turbulent times, told through the stories of the country's nobility. The book begins with the Norman Conquest in 1066 and ends with the union of England and Scotland in 1707. The nobility fought wars against Scotland in the north and against France on the Continent.

They conquered Ireland and Wales and then had to deal with the rebellions that followed. This is the story of their abduction plots and assassination attempts and the brutal retribution when the treachery failed. It recalls the barons' rebellions and the peasant uprisings against the king.

It also explains the reasons behind the family factions who fought for the crown, the most famous example being the War of the Roses. Also covered are the noble marriages arranged by the king to reward loyalty and maintain the balance of power. It tells of the children betrothed to marry, the failed marriages of convenience and the secret marriages for love.

Learn how Henry VIII introduced new problems when he appointed himself head of the Church of England. Successive monarchs switched between the new church and the Catholic Church. Then there was the challenge to Charles I's rule in the Civil Wars.The story ends with the union of England and Scotland and the creation of Great Britain in 1707.

It was also the end of the period of treachery and retribution which had plagued the English crown for nearly 650 years.

Staff Reviews

No staff reviews are available for this item.