23 products in this category, displaying products 1 to 20.

 

Pages:

12
Sort by:
Phillimore Atlas and Index of Parish Registers 3rd Edition

Phillimore Atlas and Index of Parish Registers 3rd Edition

by Cecil R. Humphrey-Smith

Phillimore Atlas and Index of Parish Registers 3rd Edition

Parish Registers are numerous in quantity and can be diffcult to locate but provide the only written record of the majority of our ancestors who are solely reco...
£45.00
£40.00
You Save: 11% Add to basket
Latin For Local And Family Historians

Latin For Local And Family Historians

by Denis Stuart

Latin For Local And Family Historians : A Beginner's Guide

Latin is the language of a vast quantity of source material but despite the popularity of researching family and local history there has been no recent textbook...
£14.99
£12.99
You Save: 13% Add to basket
Local Newspapers 1750-1920 (3rd Edition)

Local Newspapers 1750-1920 (3rd Edition)

by Jeremy Gibson & Brett Langton

Local Newspapers 1750-1920 : England And Wales, Channel Islands, Isle Of Man: A Select Location List (3rd Edition)

Local newspapers provide a huge amount of information for family and local historians. In this guide, G...
£5.95
£4.95
You Save: 17% Add to basket
Oxford Companion To Family And Local History : 2nd Edition

Oxford Companion To Family And Local History : 2nd Edition

by David Hey

Oxford Companion To Family And Local History : 2nd Edition

This Companion is an essential book for anyone wanting advice on how to research their English, Irish, Scottish, or Welsh origins and ideal for all those with a...
£14.99
£12.99
You Save: 13% Add to basket
Parish Registers  A History and Guide.

Parish Registers A History and Guide.

by Stuart A Raymond

Parish Registers : A History and Guide

Parish registers are the earliest comprehensive records of baptisms, marriages and burials in England and Wales, dating from 1538. They are still kept, despite the fact that civil ...
£5.95
£5.65
You Save: 5% Add to basket
Signposts To The Past

Signposts To The Past

by Margaret Gelling

Signposts To The Past

Place-names are important to the historian and the archaeologist. Quite apart from the inherent interest of the original meaning of a place-name, the fact that in England there are six successive l...
£14.99
£12.99
You Save: 13% Add to basket
Understanding Documents for Genealogy and Local History

Understanding Documents for Genealogy and Local History

by Bruce Durie

Understanding Documents for Genealogy & Local History

Genealogists and local historians have probably seen every birth, marriage, death and census record available, and are adept at using the internet for research. Howe...
£20.00
£18.00
You Save: 10% Add to basket
Chancel Repair Liability

Chancel Repair Liability

by James Derriman

Chancel Repair Liability : How To Research It

Suggests sources of chancel repair liability, provides background information and shows how to calculate chancel repair liability.
£24.95
£23.95
You Save: 4% Add to basket
If Walls Could Talk : An Intimate History of the Home

If Walls Could Talk : An Intimate History of the Home

by Lucy Worsley

If Walls Could Talk. An intimate history of the home

Why did the flushing toilet take two centuries to catch on? Why did Samuel Pepys never give his mistresses an orgasm? Why did medieval people sleep sitting up? When w...
£11.99
£9.99
You Save: 17% Add to basket
Inheritance : The Story of Knole and the Sackvilles

Inheritance : The Story of Knole and the Sackvilles

by Robert Sackville-West

Inheritance : The Story of Knole and the Sackvilles

Since its purchase in 1604 by Thomas Sackville, 1st Earl of Dorset, the house at Knole, Kent, has been inhabited by thirteen generations of a single aristocratic famil...
£10.99
£9.99
You Save: 9% Add to basket
Local Historian's Glossary Of Words And Phrases

Local Historian's Glossary Of Words And Phrases

by Joy Bristow

Local Histroian's Glossary Of Words And Phrases

Researching local history can be absorbing and rewarding, but often key documents (such as Manorial and Estate papers, probate inventories and parish registers) are full o...
£9.95
£8.95
You Save: 10% Add to basket
Researching London's Houses

Researching London's Houses

by Colin Thom

Researching London's Houses

Researching the history of a house can be fascinating. But it is not likely to be straightforward, especially in London, where the maze of sources is exceptionally complex. Fortunately London...
£13.95
£12.95
You Save: 7% Add to basket
Researching The History Of A Country House: A Guide To Sources And Their Use

Researching The History Of A Country House: A Guide To Sources And Their Use

by Richard Goodenough

Researching The History Of A Country House: A Guide To Sources And Their Use

The origins of this book date from the early 1990s when the author began to research the history of his own country house in the Kent Downs at...
£17.99
£16.99
You Save: 6% Add to basket
Rights of Way: Restoring the Record

Rights of Way: Restoring the Record

by Sarah Bucks & Phil Wadey

Rights of Way: Restoring the Record

This book will appeal to user groups, local authority rights of way practitioners, land agents, land owners and property lawyers, as well as local historians and those interested in t...
£30.00
£27.00
You Save: 10% Add to basket
The Handy Book Of Parish Law

The Handy Book Of Parish Law

by W A Holdsworth

The Handy Book of Parish Law

A popular and practical statement of the most important portions of parochial law - that great system of local self-government which is the foundation of English freedom.

This new and revi...
£4.00 Add to basket
Tracing Your House History A Guide for Family Historians

Tracing Your House History A Guide for Family Historians

by Gill Blanchard

Tracing Your House History : A Guide for Family Historians

Anyone who wants to find out about the history of their house – of their home – needs to read this compact, practical handbook. Whether you live in a manor ...
£14.99
£12.99
You Save: 13% Add to basket
Family and Local History Handbook 14

Family and Local History Handbook 14

by Robert Blatchford

Family and Local History Handbook 14

The latest issue of The Family and Local History Handbook offers a host of new, original and unpublished articles. This new book comprehensively covers everything from beginning your...
£10.00
£7.50
You Save: 25% Add to basket
Land And Window Tax Assessment

Land And Window Tax Assessment

by J S W Gibson

Land And Window Tax Assessment

Information available on Land Tax includes, lists year by year of the names of proprietors of land in each parish as well as the names of the actual occupiers. It also gives some indicatio...
£4.95 Add to basket
Manorial Records

Manorial Records

by Denis Stuart

Manorial Records

The Manor was for centuries the main unit of local government and virtually the only source of written local records. Once the local or family historian has taken his researches back beyond the mid-16th...
£14.99
£12.99
You Save: 13% Add to basket
Tithe Surveys For Historians

Tithe Surveys For Historians

by J P Kain

Tithe Surveys for Historians

Tithe Surveys are among the sources most frequently consulted by local historians and geographers, providing detailed information on parish and field boundaries, land use, farming, roads and...
£14.99
£9.99
You Save: 33% Add to basket
 

Pages:

12